The Reluctant Twilighter

I can't believe I have a Twilight blog…

Here’s to our Revolutionary Friend July 5, 2009

Second only to Halloween, the Fourth of July is a favorite holiday of mine.  I love watching fireworks, BBQs with my family, getting all decked out in red, white and blue, etc.  Each year my hometown has a parade, which I have attended almost every year since I was born.  One of my favorite parts of this parade is the Revolutionary War Reenacters.  These are nerds at their finest, people.  Two groups of grown men, decked out in costumes as Redcoats and Revolutionaries, walking down Main Street firing fake guns at each other.  When the Redcoats pass by the crowd boos and hisses, and then cheers erupt for the Patriots.  This year was a little different though, because as I was booing along with everyone else (Don’t think I wouldn’t be joining in!) my thoughts couldn’t help but wander to everyone’s favorite revolutionary vampire, Garrett!  Of course in the midst of a small town American celebration I would be thinking about Twilight…sorry Obama!  I love my country, really I do.  I just love Twilight too. 

 

Garrett shows up in Breaking Dawn as a witness for the Cullens.  Bella describes him as “a tall, rangy vampire with eager ruby eyes and long sandy hair he kept tied back with a leather thong.”  Um…what?  Leather thong!?!?  Anyways, he’s a nomad, or a rugged adventurer, if you so choose to think of him that way.  Which I do.  Not much else is known about him, other than that he was turned into a vampire around the time of the Revolutionary War and fought against the British.  He’s a very likable guy, everyone I know enjoyed him in book 4.  He’s one of those happy-go-lucky types until showtime, then he makes dramatic, inspiring speeches, risking his life to save creepy little Renesmee.   His speech is pretty badass, he’s actually got some of the best lines in Breaking Dawn, including my favorite, “If we live through this, I’ll follow you anywhere, woman.” 

 

Is that a leather thong I see in your hair??

Is that a leather thong I see in your hair??

He ends up leaving his human-killing ways to hook up with Kate and heads to Denali.  Which, if that all worked out would make him one of the few vegetarian vampires who started out as a regular one, saw the error of his ways and made the decision to switch on his own.  Something that deserves our respect I think, choosing that life on your own rather than being guided along by Carlisle from the moment you wake up thirsting for blood.  The most well-known vampire in this category of course would be Jasper who, as my personal favorite, definitely deserves a post dedicated to him as well.  But not today, because he fought in the Civil War for the South and that is not appropriate for this holiday weekend.  Some other time though, I promise. 

 

So here’s to you, Garrett, a vampire who not only risked his live to give the Cullens their freedom from the Volturi, but also risked his life to give us Americans our freedom from England.  In your own words, “Here’s to freedom from oppression!”  We salute you!  If I saw you walking down the street at a parade I would not boo you!   USA!  USA!  USA!

 

Thanks for reading!

 

2 Responses to “Here’s to our Revolutionary Friend”

  1. Dawn S Says:

    This is hilarious! I love Garrett! Great picture, by the way. Any thoughts on which actor should play Garrett in the movie?

    • reluctanttwilighter Says:

      I love Garrett too! I’m still having a hard time picturing an actor playing him though. I’ve seen suggestions of Ryan Reynolds and Ryan Gosling, but neither one of those seems right to me. They’ll probably cast an unknown actor who, by playing Garrett, will turn into a big huge star. I can see the cover of Teen Vogue now…


Leave a Reply

