The Reluctant Twilighter

I can't believe I have a Twilight blog…

Two Thumbs Up! Wayyyyy up! October 14, 2009

Okay, I’m back.  I told you I would be!  Where do I even start?  This is why I’ve been gone for so long… with just about 36 days before New Moon, there’s just too much going on and I’m overwhelmed!  Today we’ll just check in and make sure that we’re all up to date, shall we?

 

First off, the New Moon soundtrack got released early!  It was supposed come out next Friday, but Summit announced yesterday that they had decided to bump it up to THIS Friday.  Woot!  Woot!  They said that it was due to “overwhelming demand,” but I think we can all assume that it’s actually because it got leaked onto the internet.  I know I stumbled upon it as early as last Sunday available for my listening pleasure… although I’m proud to say that I managed to resist.  Sometimes I like to deprive myself of things just for fun.  But you can listen to most of it now legally on the New Moon myspace page.

 

So…what do we think of the album?  I’ve been waiting for this one  for a looooong time.  Lykke Li, Bon Iver, and Muse have been 3 of my favorites this year, so hearing that they were going to be on the soundtrack was super exciting.  And they did not disappoint, for sure.  Lykke Li’s track, “Possibility,” is one of my favorites so far.  As I’m listening to hen these songs, I can’t help but try to figure out which ones will be played during which scenes (and failing miserably, I’m sure.)  But this song, I don’t picture any one particular scene, I just see Bella’s face.  Poor, poor Bella.  And it breaks my heart.  Ohhh, I CANNOT WAIT for this movie!!

 

Of course I love Muse’s song.  “I Belong To You” was a track off their latest album, but it’s been remixed a little and now sounds even better.  Good ol’ Muse.  They never fail to create really weird, kickass music.  I also really like Anya Marina’s “Satellite Heart.”  I don’t know who she is, but her voice is cool and I’m excited to find out more about her.  Another favorite of mine is the last song on the album, a piano piece called “New Moon (The Meadow)” by Alexandre Desplat.  IT’S BEAUTIFUL.  It’s what Bella’s lullaby should have been instead of that crap that Carter Burwell came up with last time around that doesn’t sound anything like a lullaby.  And I know I said Death Cab’s song was boring, but it’s starting to grown on me.

 

I’ll stop now and let you decide for yourself, there’s lots of songs to love (15 to be exact, isn’t that great?), but my official take is two big thumbs wayyyyy up.  Good job everybody.  Here’s hoping that a good soundtrack = goooood movie!

 

Happy listening!  Come back soon for more news!!  (Soon like, tomorrow.  Not soon like, weeks.  I mean it.)

 

Leave a comment